beyond all reason

Something I remember my first photography class.  I was like, 20 or something, and I’d decided to leave the path of reason and follow my passion for Fine Arts.

Okay, yes that’s bull.  I had a knack of drawing and despised chemistry.

But still.  I’m there in class and the instructor was this smooth talking hipster and I felt immediately intimidated by this whole artsy world.  He saw things that I didn’t, used words in a way that I didn’t understand and felt that I should, and made comments that I guess were insightful or something because some of the other students were nodding and looked thoughtful.

I played along.

So one day we get this assignment to go out and shoot, think “tonally” or something, and I spend just hours rummaging around on this hillside cropping shots and trying to feel something artful about this boring hillside.  Eyes in a straight jacket.  I went downtown, shot alleys, felt a bit better, like maybe I’d gotten something into that roll that would be deemed artful.

(the Arts department were housed in these army barracks off on the side of campus – I guess I should mention that)

So the next week my alley photo is up on for target practice and Mr. Hip is quiet for a while and then says “I guess there’s sort of a value in the cliché of it, but other than that, there’s not much there to work with”.

I can’t say that I was overly encouraged by the comment.  We did other things in that class, I remember but only vaguely now.  Cross processing, conceptual stuff.  Still makes me feel like a bit of a dope to think about it. I liked the darkroom, but just didn’t feel any knack for seeing things, back then.  Being able to draw a bit didn’t seem to matter.

(How was I to know?  I’d come from a mulletville town, the public space philosophically divided by conundrums of another ilk, Ford versus Dodge)

But I’ve grown, I have, from those alley days.   Expanded my repetoire to include decaying storefronts, parking lots, and the stuff found nearby.

Maybe photos say less about what’s in front of the camera than what’s behind it.  Or maybe the idea is to land on a space in between, where taking the photo is just about that time, that place, that moment.

(there I go, getting all artsy now…)

I see more now, I think.  But still, he didn’t have to be so blunt.

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. danjphoto

    Some people are critical just to be harsh. They can be trying to ‘motivate’ you or they can just be dealing with their own personal issues and taking it out on you. You have some nice work here. You have a good attitude. Don’t worry about what others say. Do what you like.

Leave a Reply

The Fujifilm Blog

We love pictures, like you!

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Photofocus

education and inspiration for visual storytellers

Morgan Rana Photography

Documentary and fine art wedding, lifestyle and travel photography

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

gregfallis.com

it's this or get a real job

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Well Worn Soles

The Experiences and Opinions of Another Young White Male Backpacker

Claire Atkinson

maker of images

per Z pective

the state of my ideas

The Squeaky Robot

A Meddling Robot in a Human's World

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

