stephen harper hates me

I’m pretty sure that Stephen Harper, Creepy Leader of Canada, does not like me.  He keeps saying bad things about me, he and his buddies.  I’m a radical, a subversive, an enemy of the public interest.  Mostly this is because Stephen and I have different views about a lot of issues, and one issue in particular.  We see things differently, Stephen and I.

Sigh.

I shouldn’t let Stephen & co.’s baiting get to me, really I shouldn’t.  It could be worse, I mean if these were the Middle Ages, Stephen might have me and my clansman beheaded, banished from the kingdom, or suchlike.  Sadly for Stephen and his court, those days are behind us.

But all the same, there’s a sneakiness to it that genuinely sickens me.  It’s the insidious and bitter flavour of spin doctoring, where thinly masked political agendas masquerade, just barely, as public discourse.  Conspiracy theories have taken over, and I have my own, for sure.  But the thing about all these conspiracy theories… connecting the dots, following the money, exposing the hidden agendas (or better yet, implying them)… in the end they appeal to the cynic in us, they reduce us to passive, resigned subjects.

Really, though, it’s entertainment, isn’t it?  There’s a measure of bullshit to it that we’ve come to recognize and even expect.  Like an episode of some reality tv show – a voyeuristic indulgence where we shake our heads and grin at the mudslinging, garbed in ridiculous pretensions of genuineness.  And even that shouldn’t bother me, except for the fact that this isn’t reality TV, this is real, and it continues, and mostly it seems to be getting worse.

Welcome to the Dark Ages 2.0

But I exaggerate, I do.  Let’s compromise and call it a revival of McCarthyism.  Rick Mercer strikes the right tone on this one, I think.

We’ll survive this, we will.

One comment

Leave a Reply

The Fujifilm Blog

We love pictures, like you!

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Photofocus

education and inspiration for visual storytellers

Morgan Rana Photography

Documentary and fine art wedding, lifestyle and travel photography

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

gregfallis.com

it's this or get a real job

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Well Worn Soles

The Experiences and Opinions of Another Young White Male Backpacker

Claire Atkinson

maker of images

per Z pective

the state of my ideas

The Squeaky Robot

A Meddling Robot in a Human's World

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

