gimmickry

Long time no blog.  Back from a trip to the big Ville, cameras clutched on every corner!  Sigh.  Tired feets to show for it, and little else I’m afraid.

Uninspiring and underwhelmed was I.  My aspirations toward crafty urban street photography amount to lame shots of pavement.  Bicycle seats, diners, stuff in windows… (even trees, for Chrissakes!)  And tired feets, two of those.

So instead I turn to photoshop and gimmickry to amuse and distract.

Then again, amuse and distract seems fair game, especially for a bumpkin like me in the big Ville.  Or confuse and befuddle.  So just the basics, just a few points I’d like to make, questions I’d like to raise…  First: The barber out past Kingsway and 31st (Kings Men Hair Design) is excellent… thank you Gordon for schooling me on a proper shave.  I will do better, I promise.  Quality service is good to find.   Second:  What happened to the hot dog stand guy I usually buy at?  Why wasn’t I informed?  I’m a steady client, have I wronged you in some way, that you should abandon me?  Third: People of Vancouver – what’s with all the tiny dogs?!

Still, Vancouver evolves and gets hipper and grimmer while all I find myself saying things like “golly” and “geez” more frequently with each visit.  24 hour phở.  Tattoos everywhere, a guy being arrested by the drugstore.  And a diminutive hotel room, stuffy and undergoing renos (kind of a euphamism for “falling apart”), with a… squarish view of some other brick walls across the alley, and a front desk staffer who’s distracted and is looking right through me, out to some other life… it nonetheless hits just the right spot this time.  Just what I need.

Early morning exit to get to YVR, just a note on the front desk cryptically suggesting the staff is absent for “routine office work”… whatever, I’ll just leave the keys here then.  (Did I pay? – I should look into that…)

Perfect porcelain women arrayed in a window.  They observe the menagerie of giants and misfits and hipsters and bumpkins, some with tiny dogs.

 

Keep changing, you.  You Big Ville.

Leave a Reply

The Fujifilm Blog

We love pictures, like you!

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Photofocus

education and inspiration for visual storytellers

Morgan Rana Photography

Documentary and fine art wedding, lifestyle and travel photography

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

gregfallis.com

it's this or get a real job

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Well Worn Soles

The Experiences and Opinions of Another Young White Male Backpacker

Claire Atkinson

maker of images

per Z pective

the state of my ideas

The Squeaky Robot

A Meddling Robot in a Human's World

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

