trolling

Call me weird.  My bucket list includes being devoured by a bloodthirsty monster.

Wait, let me explain… in a movie, I mean.  Summarily dispatched, an anonymous extra in some B-movie: my demise a gratuitous, horrible and darkly humorous detail.  The briefest of moments will do – just enough to announce loudly to fellow movie-goers: “SEE THERE?!  THAT’S ME!”  If I’m to make it on the silver screen, let it be a senseless and trivial sacrifice.

I have no idea where this interest came from.  Some campy weirdness… it would make a good story to tell? Who knows, I’ve never been a big fan of horror flicks.

Well, that’s not entirely true.  Not since I saw Trollhunter!, André Øvredal’s 2010 delightful “mock-umentary” based on the “found footage” idea popularized by the Blair Witch Project.  Set in the rural and remote reaches of Norway, the film made me think differently about landscapes, imaginations, and that stuff that inhabits the spaces they share.

Just recently I had a marvelous trollhunter weekend in the remote reaches of Northwest BC here.  Stewart, BC and Hyder, Alaska are adjacent towns, once booming, now more on the busted side, tucked into the end of Portland Channel in amidst the soaking and glacial Coast mountains.

At the local museum I learn that the region has played host to a number of films – it’s proximity to ice fields and steep landscapes appeals to precipitous and chilling adventures: 1980’s Bear Island (Donald Sutherland, Vanessa Redgrave), 1982’s The Thing (Kurt Russel), 2002’s Insomnia (Al Pacino, Robin Williams, Hillary Swank).  A night’s camping atop Mount Dilworth confirms the isolated and chilly feel… a place for large and hairy beings to hibernate, I’m sure of it!

Hunkered down on a weathered bluff, the hiss of the camp stove, I’m watching clouds and imagining caves (remember the 2 basic categories of animal: hairy and furry…)

It was mining that made this place boom, back in the day. And of course, there were disasters, chilling and deadly.  But nothing says “welcome” like an abandoned mine. It’s like in Trollhunter when our 4 protaganists (e-hem…) enter into a supposedly vacated mine and you’re watching and you’re thinking… oh, that’s a very bad idea… but you just keep watching because you know, inside, you just can’t resist.  And neither could I.

Okay so I survived to tell the tale… and what’s more, I think I’ve started doubting my interest in becoming troll fodder.

Same adventure, fewer words… more photos (and bigger, and spookier…)

One comment

  1. gateau

    I don’t know, I think the bloodthirsty monster bit is less weird, or at least certainly less scary, than the climb into an abandoned mine bit. But that is just me 😉 Loved the mountain clouds vid. Great contrast to the underground images.

Leave a Reply

The Fujifilm Blog

We love pictures, like you!

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Photofocus

education and inspiration for visual storytellers

Morgan Rana Photography

Documentary and fine art wedding, lifestyle and travel photography

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

gregfallis.com

it's this or get a real job

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Well Worn Soles

The Experiences and Opinions of Another Young White Male Backpacker

Claire Atkinson

maker of images

per Z pective

the state of my ideas

The Squeaky Robot

A Meddling Robot in a Human's World

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

