, , ,

Boris and Fiona

A few shots with my panoramic cameras, Boris and Fiona. Panoramic cameras, or “swivel cameras” as I call them (I don’t know why, I just do) are weird and wondrous creatures in the camera world.  The whole lens is on a kind of carousel within the camera’s housing, and it “sweeps” the horizon during the…

A few shots with my panoramic cameras, Boris and Fiona.

Panoramic cameras, or “swivel cameras” as I call them (I don’t know why, I just do) are weird and wondrous creatures in the camera world.  The whole lens is on a kind of carousel within the camera’s housing, and it “sweeps” the horizon during the exposure.  This makes for very wide fields of view (around 120 degrees), without many of the awkward distortions that can happen with a wide lens.  They’re tricky to use, but a lot of fun.  These days most digital cameras have some kind of “panoramic” feature that allows you to stitch shots together, but they make me feel like a human scanner.  Click on the gallery to see the higher res images.

With Boris and Fiona are definitely from the pre-silicon age, so it’s all about the film.  But they’re both very professional.  Look, it says so…

(Incidentally, Boris is the little guy)

Leave a comment