What do I know about Japan?

Hey, in a little under 2 months from now, I’m off to Japan!

Have you ever been to Japan?  Yes, you, dear blog reader.  You see, I know nothing of Japan but I’m excited as can be not only because of the destination, but because it’s all about the photography this time…!  I believe it’s what the pros would call being “on assignment”.  Details on this project will follow, enough said that my shutter finger will get a workout, and my eyes and taste buds as well.  But more on that later.  Right now…

I.

Need.

Your.

Help.

Maybe you’ve been, maybe you know someone who’s been?  Maybe you’ve dreamt of Mount Fuji, you have a knack for origami, whatever.  Let me know – tips of the usual sort for the curious traveller are welcome, though I much prefer random and disconnected anecdotes.

h e l p   m e   t o   s e e.

gazi

Let’s get started with a list.

ichi : My local bookstore shelves a meager travel section indeed.  My search for a guidebook fails completely, but I do find two books on how to learn karate – which, of course translates loosely as “empty hand” (thank-you, Mister Miyagi).

ni : I have been to Japan before, a layover in Narita International, I recall a great spacious dome of a terminal, it was cold and bustling and I was tired and outside Canada on my own for the first time in my life.  I was… 19 years old.  In a little under 2 months from now, I’ll be travelling to Japan again…!

san : ESL students, scores of ’em… the habitual twirling of pens like tiny batons.

shi/yon : The Sakhalin Taimen (Hucho taimen), the worlds largest salmon species, found only in the Russian far east and parts of Hokkaido.  If you’re in to salmonids, you’ll like this guy.  They can live for 20 years, grow to near 2 metres, and it seems, they’re prone to habitat loss and contamination and… ah, you know the rest of it.

… more to follow shortly on my preparations for this trip.  And I’m serious about the advice thing: If you have any great resources or contacts for a photographer in Japan, please get in touch!

arigatou

.

Leave a Reply

The Fujifilm Blog

We love pictures, like you!

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Photofocus

education and inspiration for visual storytellers

Morgan Rana Photography

Documentary and fine art wedding, lifestyle and travel photography

gregfallis.com

it's this or get a real job

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Well Worn Soles

The Experiences and Opinions of Another Young White Male Backpacker

Claire Atkinson

maker of images

per Z pective

the state of my ideas

The Squeaky Robot

A Meddling Robot in a Human's World

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

