oddball the ponyboat

Poking about the floats this morning, the lyrics of an oddball tune by cowboy crooner Lyle Lovett come to mind.  Song about boats and ponies.  I wonder what the connection could be there?  Something to escape on, somewhere to feel high and lonesome?

trust sound

report to the boss
holdcommute

If I had a boat
I’d go out on the ocean
And if I had a pony
I’d ride him on my boat

And we could all together
Go out on the ocean
Me upon my pony on my boat

The mystery masked man was smart
He got himself a Tonto
‘Cause Tonto did the dirty work for free
But Tonto he was smarter
And one day said kemo sabe
Kiss my ass I bought a boat I’m going out to sea

And if I were like lightning I wouldn’t need no sneakers
I’d come and go wherever I would please
And I’d scare ’em by the shade tree
And I’d scare ’em by the light pole
But I would not scare my pony on my boat out on the sea

– Lyle Lovett, If I Had a Boat

A curious video if you follow that link and ignore the idiotic ad before it.

I don’t have a boat.  Or a pony.  But yeah, Oddball – If I had either, that’s what I’d name her.  Gidyap.

oddball
Leave a Reply

The Fujifilm Blog

We love pictures, like you!

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Capturing Music

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Photofocus

education and inspiration for visual storytellers

Morgan Rana Photography

Documentary and fine art wedding, lifestyle and travel photography

gregfallis.com

it's this or get a real job

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

surface & surface

Art & Design Choice Cuts

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Well Worn Soles

The Experiences and Opinions of Another Young White Male Backpacker

Claire Atkinson

maker of images

per Z pective

the state of my ideas

The Squeaky Robot

A Meddling Robot in a Human's World

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

